Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology / Medicine / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / Medicine

Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology

Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences


The Nobel Prize is the first international award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and peace. The prize consists of a medal, a personal diploma, and a prize amount.

Physiology or Medicine is one of the five prize areas mentioned in Alfred Nobel's will. Nobel stated that prizes be given to those who, during the preceding year, "shall have conferred the greatest benefit on mankind" and that one part be given to the person who "shall have made the most important discovery within the domain of physiology or medicine."


The 2012 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to Sir John B. Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka "for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent"

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - All rights reserved