ICAAC Young Investigator Awards / Life sciences / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / Life sciences

ICAAC Young Investigator Awards

American Society for Microbiology


Sponsored by Merck and Company, Inc., U.S. Human Health Division, since 1983, the ICAAC Young Investigator Awards recognize early career scientists in North America for excellence in research in microbiology and infectious diseases.


2004 ICAAC Awards Winners :

1) Eleftherios Mylonakis, M.D., Ph.D. Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
An exceptionally talented young physician-scientist, Dr. Mylonakis is recognized for his work on the mechanisms of fungal pathogenesis, focusing on his development of a number of nonmammalian host models to study the human pathogenic fungus Cryptococcus neoformans. His research demonstrated that mutations in C. neoformans that attenuate pathogenesis in mammalian models also attenuate the interaction with C. elegans. Dr. Mylonakis received both his doctorate and medical degree from Kapodistrian National University in Athens, Greece.

2) C. Erec Stebbins, The Rockefeller University , Ph.D. New York City
Dr. Stebbins is honored for his unique approach to pathogenesis, his work in biochemistry and structural biology that have made significant contributions to our knowledge of the key virulence factors of some of the most dangerous pathogens. Dr. Stebbins received his Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Structural Biology from the Joan and Sanford I. Weill Graduate School of Medical Sciences at Cornell University in New York.

3) Mary C. Jackson, Ph.D. Institut Pasteur, Paris
Dr. Jackson is recognized for her substantial accomplishments in development of genetic tools for studying Mycrobaceterium tuberculosis and characterization of essential enzymes of this bacterium as therapeutic targets for novel anti-tuberculosis drugs. Dr. Jackson received her Ph.D. jointly from the National School of Agronomy and Institute Pasteur.

4) Kevin B. Laupland, M.D. University of Calgary, Alberta
Dr. Laupland’s is honored for his work in clinical epidemiology, a population based surveillance of antimicrobial resistance and infectious disease in the Intensive Care unit. His recent research on the population based epidemiology and risk factors of invasive Staphylococcus auerus infection have been widely cited. Dr. Laupland earned his Doctor of Medicine from the University of Toronto and his Master of Science from the University of Calgary

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - www.cirs.info - All rights reserved