TWAS Young Scientist / General / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / General

TWAS Young Scientist

Academy of Science of South Africa


The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World, formerly known as the Third World Academy of Science (TWAS), aims to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development and growth in the South. One of its many programmes is the TWAS Prize for Young Scientists, which is a national award made annually to young scientists who have made outstanding contributions in scientific research within specific developing countries. This annual award is given to an outstanding researcher under the age of forty, living and working in South Africa, who is evaluated on the criteria of research excellence, the potential value of the research to society, the success of the candidate in the development of students, and his or her success in contributing to the public understanding of science and technology. The TWAS Prize for Young Scientists in South Africa is managed by ASSAf, on behalf of its partners, TWAS and the Department of Science and Technology (DST).


2009 : Dr Esta van Heerden of the Free State University.

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - All rights reserved