Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award / Medicine / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / Medicine

Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award

Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine


The Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award is the Academy's highest honor. It is presented to a member who has demonstrated distinctive achievements in C-L/PM training, research, clinical practice, and leadership.

The award was established in 1988 to honor Thomas P. Hackett, Jr., MD, FAPM, professor and chief of the Department of Psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital 1974-1988 and president of APM 1987-88. Dr. Hackett was a long-time leader in the field of C-L psychiatry. He died of a heart attack at age 59, two months after he took office as president of APM. The first Hackett award was presented in 1989 to Edwin H. Cassem, MD, FAPM, who also succeeded Dr. Hackett as chief of psychiatry at MGH, 1989-2000.


2009 : Francis Creed, MD, FRCP, FRCPsych

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - www.cirs.info - All rights reserved