Katherine Esau Award / Life sciences / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / Life sciences

Katherine Esau Award

Botanical Society of America


DR. KATHERINE ESAU will be remembered by countless students as the author of Plant Anatomy and Anatomy of Seed Plants, which are among the most influential textbooks in structural botany the second half of the last century. In 1957, Dr. Esau became the sixth woman elected to the National Academy of Sciences. In 1989, she was awarded the National Medal of Science by President George Bush. This award was established in 1985 with a gift from Dr. Esau and is augmented by ongoing contributions. It is given to the graduate student who presents the outstanding paper in developmental and structural botany at the annual meeting.


2007 : Mackenzie Taylor, University of Tennessee
For her paper “Fertilization timing and the pollen tube pathway in Cabombaceae (Nymphaeales).” Her co-author was Joseph H. Williams.

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - www.cirs.info - All rights reserved