Alice Wilson Award / General / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / General

Alice Wilson Award

Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada


The Alice Wilson Award was established by RSC in 1991, at the behest of the Committee for Advancement of Women in Scholarship, to honour the memory of Alice Evelyn Wilson (1881-1964), FRSC, the first woman elected to RSC (1938). Dr. Wilson was a world-renowned palaeontologist and one of Canada’s foremost geologists. Her career with the Geological Survey of Canada lasted from 1909 to 1946, while she advanced from museum assistant to geologist. In addition to her research contributions, she brought geology to the public, especially to children, in many ways.

The award is given to a woman of outstanding academic qualifications who is entering a career in scholarship or research at the postdoctoral level. The recipient is chosen from the current year’s female winners of postdoctoral fellowships from one of three granting Councils - the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), by yearly rotation. The award consists of a diploma and a cash amount of $1,000 and is offered every year.

The Women in Scholarship Committee shall act as the selection committee for this award.


2010 : for outstanding academic qualifications of a woman who is entering a career in scholarship or research at the postdoctoral level.
Dawn M. Cooper, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, The University of British Columbia

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - All rights reserved